About Us

We are a San Diego based company dedicated to providing a highly motivating team-building program which will empower individuals and leave them feeling exhilarated after a once in a lifetime opportunity of being an America’s Cup team.

Stars and Stripes USA 11

In 1992 the International America’s Cup Class (IACC) of yachts was introduced to the America’s Cup regatta, replacing the 12-meter class that had been used since 1958. Designed by David Pedrick, Bruce Nelson, and Alberto Calderon and built by Eric Goetz in Rhode Island, Stars and Stripes USA11 was Dennis Conner’s first IACC boat. Dennis Conner is the most famous sailor of our time and is the only man to win, lose, win, and lose the America’s Cup. Since his successful campaign that won the Cup back from Australia in 1987, all of his America’s Cup yachts have been named Stars and Stripes. USA11 is 80 feet long, 17’ wide, and the mast height is 115’ (11 stories high).

The America's Cup

The America’s Cup is the most famous and prestigious sailing regatta in the world. It is also the oldest active trophy in international sport. Predating the modern Olympics by almost 50 years, and is considered the “Holy Grail” of yachting.

The Cup was originally known as the Royal Yacht Squadron Cup and it, along with a sum of 100 Sovereigns was the prize for the 1951 Annual Regatta around the Isle of Wight. Though she started late, the schooner America won the race against the 15 British yachts by 20 minutes. When America emerged alone from a fog near the finish, Queen Victoria asked who was in second; the famous answer: “There is no second, Your Majesty.”

In 1857 the American syndicate donated the Cup to the New York Yacht Club to be held in trust as a challenge trophy to “promote friendly competition among nations.” Despite a succession of British (and other) attempts to win back the Cup, the New York Yacht Club prevailed in 25 challenges over 113 years, the longest winning streak in the history of sport. Finally, in 1983, an Australian team funded by businessman, Alan Bond, beat Dennis Conner and the Cup left the United States for the first time in 132 years. But Dennis Conner refused to quit and in 1987 he challenged Australia for the San Diego Yacht Club and became the first and only skipper to win, lose, and win back the America’s Cup. The America’s Cup lived at the San Diego Yacht Club for 8 years until it was won by New Zealand in 1995. The Kiwi team defended the Cup in 2000, but in 2003 a Swiss syndicate challenged, won, and successfully defended it in Valencia in the summer of 2007.

From its beginnings in 1851 until today, the America’s Cup represents a technical, financial, and commitment challenge that attracts the best men and women in the world to form teams and compete at the highest level.

Watch Video

Contact us today to schedule you and your team on the best team building experience around.

What an honor it was to be aboard the historic Stars and Stripes and to actually learn each aspect of sailing it. The coaching from the experts at each of the stations was excellent as we learned to communicate and work together better as a team. Dan Brockman, SAIC